1989 Agatha Awards Winners and Nominees

Given annually at the Malice Domestic Mystery Conference for the best “cozy” mystery in each category. Please note that the awards are given for works of the previous year. Thus, the “1994” awards were give in 1994 for works published in 1993.

Best Novel

Something Wicked by Carolyn Hart

Best Novel Nominees

  • The Widow’s Club by Dorothy Cannell
  • Mischief in Maggody by Joan Hess
  • Paying the Piper by Sharyn McCrumb
  • Dead Crazy by Nancy Pickard

Best First Novel

A Great Deliverance by Elizabeth George

Best First Novel Nominees

  • The Killings at Badger’s Drift by Caroline Graham
  • The J. Alfred Prufrock Murders by Corinne Sawyer
  • Goodbye Nanny Grey by Susannah Stacey
  • Dead Men Don’t Give Seminars by Dorothy Sucher

Best Short Story

“More Final Than Divorce” by Robert Barnard (EQMM)

Best Short Story Nominees

  • “Prodigal Grandson” by Elizabeth Byrd
  • “Father of the Bride” by P.M. Carlson
  • “Double Vision” by Mary Higgins Clark
  • “Dutiful Son” by Ralph McInerny


Comments are closed.

MysteryNet: The Online Mystery Network
For everyone who enjoys a mystery!