2001 Agatha Awards

Malice Domestic announced the nominees for the 2001 Agatha Award on March 1.

The Agatha Awards, named for Agatha Christie, are presented annually during the Malice Domestic Convention in celebration of the traditional mystery. Malice Domestic XIII takes place May 4-6, 2001, in Arlington, Virginia. Malice attendees who registered for the convention by January 6, 2001, voted for the nominees. The winners will be selected by all convention attendees and presented at the Agatha Awards Banquet on May 5.

Malice Domestic XIII Agatha Nominees:

Best Novel

  • He Shall Thunder in the Sky by Elizabeth Peters
  • The Floating Girl by Sujata Massey
  • Guns and Roses by Taffy Cannon
  • Killer Wedding by Jerrilyn Farmer
  • Storm Track by Margaret Maron

Best First Novel

  • Death Dances to a Reggae Beat by Kate Grille
  • Death on a Silver Tray by Rosemary Stevens
  • Death of an Amiable Child by Irene Marcuse
  • Murder of a Small Town Honey by Denise Swanson
  • Three Dirty Women and the Garden of Death by Julie Wray Herman

Best Non-Fiction

  • The American Regional Mystery – Marvin Lachman, Editor
  • The Complete Christie by Matthew Bunson
  • 100 Favorite Mysteries of the Century – Jim Huang, Editor
  • They Wrote the Book – Helen Windrath, Editor
  • Women of Mystery – Martha Dubose, Editor

Best Short Story

  • “Amish Butter” by Jacqueline Fiedler in Unholy Orders
  • “The Man in the Civil Suit” by Jan Burke in Malice Domestic 9
  • “Miss Parker and the Cutter-Sanborn Tables” by Gay Toltl Kinman in A Deadly Dozen
  • “Nothing to Lose” by Robert Barnard in Malice Domestic 9
  • “The Seal of the Confessional” by Rhys Bowen in Unholy Orders
  • “Widow’s Peak” by Rochelle Krich in Unholy Orders


Comments are closed.

MysteryNet: The Online Mystery Network
For everyone who enjoys a mystery!