MysteryNet Home
TV Movies
Mystery Awards    2001 Agatha Awards

Malice Domestic announced the nominees for the
2001 Agatha Award on March 1.

The Agatha Awards, named for Agatha Christie, are presented annually during the Malice Domestic Convention in celebration of the traditional mystery. Malice Domestic XIII takes place May 4-6, 2001, in Arlington, Virginia. Malice attendees who registered for the convention by January 6, 2001, voted for the nominees. The winners will be selected by all convention attendees and presented at the Agatha Awards Banquet on May 5.

Malice Domestic XIII Agatha Nominees:

Best Novel

He Shall Thunder in the Sky by Elizabeth Peters
The Floating Girl by Sujata Massey
Guns and Roses by Taffy Cannon
Killer Wedding by Jerrilyn Farmer
Storm Track by Margaret Maron

Best First Novel

Death Dances to a Reggae Beat by Kate Grille
Death on a Silver Tray by Rosemary Stevens
Death of an Amiable Child by Irene Marcuse
Murder of a Small Town Honey by Denise Swanson
Three Dirty Women and the Garden of Death by Julie Wray Herman

Best Non-Fiction

The American Regional Mystery Marvin Lachman, Editor
The Complete Christie by Matthew Bunson
100 Favorite Mysteries of the Century Jim Huang, Editor
They Wrote the Book Helen Windrath, Editor
Women of Mystery Martha Dubose, Editor

Best Short Story

"Amish Butter" by Jacqueline Fiedler in Unholy Orders
"The Man in the Civil Suit" by Jan Burke in Malice Domestic 9
"Miss Parker and the Cutter-Sanborn Tables" by Gay Toltl Kinman in A Deadly Dozen
"Nothing to Lose" by Robert Barnard in Malice Domestic 9
"The Seal of the Confessional" by Rhys Bowen in Unholy Orders
"Widow's Peak" by Rochelle Krich in Unholy Orders

Back2000 Agatha Awards

BackBack to Mystery Awards