MysteryNet Home
TV Movies
Mystery Awards 1998 Agatha Awards

The Agatha awards are presented at the annual Malice Domestic mystery convention, having been voted on by convention attendees. Winners were announced at the Agatha Awards Banquet May 2, 1998. The award is named in honor of Agatha Christie, author of many "cozy" mysteries, and is shaped like a teapot, as the traditional cozy takes place in the English countryside.

Best Novel
The Devil in Music (Viking)
Kate Ross
Best Novel Nominees
Jan Burke Hocus (Simon & Schuster)
Deborah Crombie Dreaming Of The Bones (Scribner)
Earlene Fowler Goose In A Pond (Berkley)
Elizabeth Peters Seeing A Large Cat (Warner)

Best First Mystery
The Salaryman's Wife (Broadway Books)
Sujata Massey
Quieter Than Sleep Joanne Dobson (Doubleday)
The Butter Did It Phyllis Richman (HarperCollins)
Dead Body Language Penny Warner (Bantam)
Death Brims Over Barbara Jaye Wilson (Avon)

Best Nonfiction
Detecting Men Pocket Guide (Purple Moon Press)
Willetta Heising
Crimes Of The Scene Nina King & Robin Winks (St. Martin's)
Guilty Parties Ian Ousby (Thames & Hudson)

Best Short Story
"Tea For Two," by M.D. Lake
Funnybones (Signet)
"Heavenly Bodies," by Simon Brett Funnybones (Signet)
"Come To Tea," by Janet Laurence Murder They Wrote (Boulevard)
"Corbett Correspondence," by Edward Marston & Peter Lovesey Malice Domestic 6 (Pocket Books)
"Two Ladies Of Rose Cottage," by Peter Robinson Malice Domestic 6 (Pocket Books)

BackBack to Mystery Awards