MysteryNet Home
TV Movies
1999 Agatha Awards

The Agatha awards are presented at the annual Malice Domestic mystery convention, having been voted on by convention attendees. Winners were announced at the Agatha Awards Banquet May 2, 1999. The award is named in honor of Agatha Christie, author of many "cozy" mysteries, and is shaped like a teapot, as the traditional cozy takes place in the English countryside.

Best Novel Nominees
Jan Burke Liar (Simon & Schuster)
Earlene Fowler Dove In The Window - (Berkley)
Virginia Lanier Blind Bloodhound Justice (Harper Collins)
Laura Lippman Butcher'S Hill (Avon)
Margaret Maron Home Fires (Mysterious Press)
Elizabeth Peters The Ape Who Guards The Balance (Avon)

Best First Mystery Nominees
Jerrilyn Farmer Sympathy For The Devil (Avon)
Jacqueline Fiedler Tiger'S Palette (Pocket)
Judy Fitzwater Dying To Get Published (Fawcett)
Robin Hathaway The Doctor Digs A Grave (St. Martins)
Sharon Kahn Fax Me A Bagel (Scribner)

Best Nonfiction Nominees
Alzina Stone Dale Mystery Reader'S Walking Guide To Washington D.C. (Passport Books)
Ed Gorman and Martin Greenberg Speaking Of Murder (Berkley)
Jan Grape, Dean James, Ellen Nehr Deadly Women (Carroll & Graf)
Victoria Nichols and Susan Thompson Silk Stalkings II (Scarecrow)
Jean Swanson and Dean James Killer Books (Berkley)

Best Short Nominees
Laurien Berenson "Sleeping Dogs Lie" - Canine Crimes (Ballantine)
Harlan Coben "A Simple Philosophy" - Malice Domestic 7 (Avon)
Barbara D'Amato "Of Course You Know that Chocolate Is a Vegetable" - Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, November 1998
Dean James "The Village Vampire and the Oboe of Death" - Malice Domestic 7 (Avon)
Daniel Stashower "A Deliberate Form of Frenzy" - Malice Domestic 7 (Avon)

BackBack to Mystery Awards