2000 Anthony Award Winners and Nominees

Anthony Awards were presented at Bouchercon 2000 World Mystery Convention, held September 7-10th in Denver, Colorado.

Nominees and winners were selected by Bouchercon attendees. In addition to awards given for the best novel, first novel, paperback original, short story, and criticism/biography, special awards this year were also given for the best series of the century, writer of the century, and novel of the century.

The award is named for the late Anthony Boucher (William Anthony Parker White), well-known writer, critic, and fan of the mystery genre. Each convention committee designs its own award to present to the winners.

Best Mystery Novel

IN A DRY SEASON by Peter Robinson (Morrow)


  • RIVER OF DARKNESS by Rennie Airth (Viking)
  • BONES by Jan Burke (Simon & Schuster)
  • L.A. REQUIEM by Robert Crais (Random House)
  • HIGH FIVE by Janet Evanovich (St Martins)

Best First Mystery Novel

MURDER, WITH PEACOCKS by Donna Andrews (St Martins)


  • MURDER IN THE MARAIS by Cara Black (Soho)
  • CIRCLES OF CONFUSION by April Henry (HarperCollins)
  • REVENGE OF THE GYPSY QUEEN by Kris Neri (Rainbow Books)
  • INNER CITY BLUES by Paula L. Woods (W.W. Norton)

Best Mystery Paperback Original

IN BIG TROUBLE by Laura Lippman (Morrow)


  • EVERY MOVE SHE MAKES by Robin Burcell (HarperCollins)
  • LUCKY MAN by Anthony P. Dunbar (Dell)
  • THE OUTCAST by Jose La Tour (Akashic)
  • AN ANTIDOTE FOR AVARICE by Caroline Roe (Berkley)

Best Mystery Short Story

NOIR LITE by Margaret Chittenden, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine


  • A BIT OF A TREAT by Barry Baldwin, Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine
  • AT THE HOP by Bill and Judy Crider, Till Death Do Us Part
  • TRIANGLE by Jeffrey Deaver, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine
  • PALETA MAN by Laurie R. King, Irreconcilable Differences

Best Critical Non-Fiction

DETECTING WOMEN 3RD EDITION by Willetta Heising (Puple Moon)


  • THE MYSTERY REVIEW MAGAZINE edited by Barbara Davey
  • DEADLY PLEASURE MAGAZINE edited by George Easter
  • ROSS MACDONALD by Tom Nolan (Simon & Schuster)

Best Mystery Novel of the Century

REBECCA by Daphne Du Maurier (Morrow)


  • THE BIG SLEEP by Raymond Chandler (Random House)
  • THE MURDER OF ROGER ACKROYD by Agatha Christie (Berkley)
  • THE MALTESE FALCON by Dashiell Hammett (Random House)
  • GAUDY NIGHT by Dorothy L. Sayers(HarperCollins)

Best Series of the Century

HERCULE POIROT by Agatha Christie


  • 87TH PRECINCT by Ed McBain
  • SHARON MCCONE by Marcia Muller
  • LORD PETER WIMSEY by Dorothy L. Sayer
  • NERO WOLFE by Rex Stout

Best Writer

Agatha Christie


  • Raymond Chandler
  • Dashiell Hammett
  • Dorothy L. Sayers
  • Rex Stout


Comments are closed.

MysteryNet: The Online Mystery Network
For everyone who enjoys a mystery!