2000 Derringer Award Winners and Nominees

The annual Derringer Award for excellence in the field of short stories was created in 1997 by the Short Mystery Fiction Society. The name “Derringer,” after the palm-sized handgun, was chosen as a metaphor for a crime short story–small, but dangerous. The Derringer was created to fill a void in the arena of American mystery awards, which tend to concentrate on novels. Any story published (in print or online) in a given calendar year is eligible for a Derringer.

The 1999 Derringer Awards will be announced June 1st.

Best Short Story Nominees

  • “The Bread of Affliction” by Michael Kahn – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, September/October 99
  • “Let Sleeping Dogs Lie” by Chris Huntington – Blue Murder Magazine #9
  • “Taking Care of Frank” by Antony Mann – Crimewave #2
  • “The Way to a Man’s Heart” by Elizabeth Dearl – MysteryNet Twist, February 10, 1999
  • “One More Kill” by Matt Hughes – Blue Murder, December 99

Best Novella Nominees

  • “Annie’s Dream” by Bentley Dadmun – Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, December 1999
  • “Death in the Dales” by C. M. Chan – Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, January 1999
  • “Saint Bobby” by Doug Allyn – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, April 1999

Best Short Shorts Nominees

  • “Absent-Minded” by L. C. Mohr – FUTURES, June/July 1999
  • “When in Rome” by Dorothy Francis – Murderous Intent Mystery Magazine, December/January 2000 issue
  • “Blind Justice” by Lynda Douglas – Novel Advice, August 15, 1999
  • “Just a Man on the Sidewalk” by Carol Kilgore – MysteryNet Flash, March 12-18, 1999
  • “The Armored Car” by Tim Myers – MysteryNet Twist, August 4, 1999

Best First Short Mystery Story

  • “Death in Full Bloom” by Ray Wonderly – FUTURES, August 1999

Special Award Winners

  • The Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement in Short Mystery Fiction goes to Henry Slesar for his extensive and outstanding body of short mystery fiction.
  • The Derringer Award for Reader Support is shared this year by two people who have each made outstanding contributions in aid of the short mystery fiction reader.
  • Robert Foster, the long-time editor of The Short Order, the online newsletter serving the Short Mystery Fiction Society
  • Jiro Kimura, the Short Mystery Fiction Society Historian, and Producer/Author of The Gumshoe Site


Comments are closed.

MysteryNet: The Online Mystery Network
For everyone who enjoys a mystery!