MysteryNet Home
TV Movies
Other Mystery Awards
2000 Derringer Award Winners & Nominees

The annual Derringer Award for excellence in the field of short stories was created in 1997 by the Short Mystery Fiction Society. The name "Derringer," after the palm-sized handgun, was chosen as a metaphor for a crime short story--small, but dangerous. The Derringer was created to fill a void in the arena of American mystery awards, which tend to concentrate on novels. Any story published (in print or online) in a given calendar year is eligible for a Derringer.

Best Short Short

"When in Rome" by Dorothy Francis
Murderous Intent Mystery Magazine, December/January 2000 issue

"Just a Man on the Sidewalk" by Carol Kilgore Flash, March 12-18, 1999

"Absent-Minded" by L. C. Mohr
FUTURES, June/July 1999

"Blind Justice" by Lynda Douglas
Novel Advice, August 15, 1999

"The Armored Car" by Tim Myers
MysteryNet Twist, August 4, 1999

Best Short Story

"The Way to a Man's Heart" by Elizabeth Dearl Twist, February 10, 1999

"The Bread of Affliction" by Michael Kahn
Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, September/October 99

"Let Sleeping Dogs Lie" by Chris Huntington
Blue Murder Magazine #9

"Taking Care of Frank" by Antony Mann
Crimewave #2

"One More Kill" by Matt Hughes
Blue Murder, December 99


Best Novella

"Saint Bobby" by Doug Allyn
Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, April 1999

"Annie's Dream" by Bentley Dadmun
Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, December 1999

"Death in the Dales" by C. M. Chan
Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, January 1999

Special Award Winners:

Best First Short Mystery Story:

"Death in Full Bloom" by Ray Wonderly
FUTURES, August 1999

The Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement in Short Mystery Fiction goes to Henry Slesar for his extensive and outstanding body of short mystery fiction.

The Derringer Award for Reader Support is shared this year by two people who have each made outstanding contributions in aid of the short mystery fiction reader.

Robert Foster, the long-time editor of The Short Order, the online newsletter serving the Short Mystery Fiction Society

Jiro Kimura, the Short Mystery Fiction Society Historian, and Producer/Author of The Gumshoe Site

BackBack to Mystery Awards