MysteryNet Home
TV Movies
Edgar Allan Poe Awards 2004 Nominees

About the Edgar Allan Poe Mystery Awards

Founded in 1945, the Mystery Writers of America is the preeminent American organization of mystery writers. Each year in April, the MWA bestows the coveted Edgar Allan Poe Awards for achievement in various categories. Although the awards criteria have remained sensitive to changing conditions over the passing years, in general terms the criteria are these:

  • An Edgar Award is for the best work in various categories of the mystery field involving writing.
  • A Raven Award is for the best work in a field of the mystery NOT involving writing.
  • A Scroll is recognition for being a nominee.
  • The Grand Master Award is recognition for important contributions to the mystery genre over time, as well as a significant output of consistently high quality.
  • The Ellery Queen Award is given to writing teams and also to outstanding people in the mystery publishing industry.

Mystery Writers of America presented its first Edgar Allan Poe Awards in 1946 for works published or produced in 1945. Various categories have been added or discontinued over the years. Please note that all dates in this listing designate the year the award was given.