MysteryNet Home
TV Movies
Edgar Allan Poe Awards

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award Winners - Edgar Awards

Complete List of All Since Start in 1961

This award is sponsored by the Robert L. Fish estate. Each year the Edgar short-story committee selects the best first short story by an American author. The author receives a plaque and a monetary award.

The Edgar Awards, which first were awarded in 1946, are given in a number of different categories. All Robert L. Fish First Mystery Short Story Edgar Award Winners and Nominees since the award began in 1984 are listed below.

  • 1999 "Clarity," by Bryn Bonner, in EQMM (May 1998)
  • 1998 "If Thine Eye Offend Thee," by Rosaland Roland, in Murder x 13 (Crown Valley Press)
  • 1997 "The Prosecutor of DuPrey," by David Vaughn (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, January '96)
  • 1996 "The Word for Breaking August Sky," by James Sarafin (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, July '95)
  • 1995 "Me and Mr. Harry," by Batya Swift Yasgur (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, mid-Dec. '94)
  • 1994 "Wicked Twist," by D. A. McGuire (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, October '93)
  • 1993 "A Will Is a Way," by Steven Saylor (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, March '92)
  • 1991 "Willie's Story," by Jerry F. Skarky (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, June '90)
  • 1990 "Hawks," by Connie Colt (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, June '89)
  • 1989 "Different Drummers," by Linda O. Johnston (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, July '88)
  • 1988 "Roger, Mr. Whilkie!" by Eric M. Heideman (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, July '87)
  • 1987 "Father to the Man," by Mary Kittredge (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, November '86)
  • 1986 "Final Rites," by Doug Allyn (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, December '85)
  • 1985 "Poor Dumb Mouths," by Bill Crenshaw (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, May '84)
  • 1984 "Locked Doors," by Lilly Carlson (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, October '83)